Back to Biodiversity Explorer main pageGo to Iziko Museums of Cape Town home pageAbout Biodiversity Explorer - history, goals, etc.Send us your questions about southern African biodiversityPeople who have contributed content and images.Search Biodiversity Explorer

Family: Myricaceae

Life > eukaryotes > Archaeoplastida > Chloroplastida > Charophyta > Streptophytina > Plantae (land plants) > Tracheophyta (vascular plants) > Euphyllophyta > Lignophyta (woody plants) > Spermatophyta (seed plants) > Angiospermae (flowering plants) > Eudicotyledons > Core Eudicots > Rosids > Eurosid I > Order: Fagales

Four genera and 57 species (more-or-less cosmopolitan but not in Australia), with one genus (Morella) and 12 speces native to southern Africa and a further genus (Myrica) and two species cultivated in southern Africa.

Genera native to southern Africa

List from Plants of Southern Africa - an Online Checklist (SANBI)


Twelve species, native to southern Africa. These species were previously placed in the genus Myrica.

Other genera, cultivated in southern Africa

List from Glen (2002).


Myrica faya (Faya, Fayero) and Myrica pensylvanica (Bayberry) are cultivated in the region.



  • Glen, H.F. 2002. Cultivated Plants of Southern Africa. Jacana, Johannesburg.


Contact us if you can contribute information or images to improve this page.

Biodiversity Explorer home   Iziko home   Search