Guide to southern African cartilaginous fish (sharks, rays and chimaeras)

Life > Eukaryotes > Opisthokonta > Metazoa (animals) > Bilateria > Deuterostomia > Chordata > Craniata > Vertebrata (vertebrates)  > Gnathostomata (jawed vertebrates) > Chondrichthyes

Cartilaginous fish home

Subclass: Elasmobranchii (sharks and rays)


Superorder Galeomorphii (galeomorph sharks)


Order: Heterodontiformes (bullhead sharks)

These small, stout-bodied, mostly inshore bottom sharks have a piglike snout, small mouth, five gill slits, and enlarged rounded teeth in the back of their mouths for crushing invertebrate prey. They lay large, conical, helical-flanged egg-cases on the bottom. Only 1 family, Heterodontidae, with 8 species, 1 in the area: Heterodontus ramalheira (Whitespotted bullhead shark)


Order: Lamniformes (mackeral sharks)

Typical large sharks with 2 spineless dorsal fins, an anal fin, 5 pairs of gill slits, long mouths, and no nictitating eyelids. All species probably live-bearing and with uterine cannibalism. 15 species in 7 families, of which 11 species in the Families Odontaspididae, Mitsukurinidae, Pseudocarcharidae, Alopiidae, Cetorhinidae, and Lamnidae occur in the area.


Order: Orectolobiformes (carpet sharks)

The only sharks that combine 2 spineless dorsal fins, an anal fin, nasal barbels, and a short mouth well in front of the eyes. These are variably egg-laying or live-bearing. 32 living species in 7 families; only the Families Stegostomatidae, Ginglymstomatidae, and Rhincodontidae occur in the area, each with a single species.


Order: Carcharhiniformes (Ground sharks)

The dominant major group of sharks, with 2 spineless dorsal fins, 5 pairs of gill slits, movable nictitating lower eyelids that protect the eyes, and a long mouth extending behind the eyes. Egg laying or live-bearing, some with a placenta. Over 209 species in 8 families; 6 families, Scyliorhinidae, Proscylliidae, Triakidae, Hemigaleidae, Carcharhinidae, and Sphyrnidae, in the area, with 49 species.


Superorder: Squalomorphii (squalomorph sharks)


Order: Hexanchiformes (cow sharks)


Order: Squaliformes (dogfish sharks)


Order: Pristiophoriformes (sawsharks)


Order: Squatiniformes (angel sharks)


Superorder: Batoidei (rays)


Order: Rajiformes (rays)


Suborder: Pristoidei (sawfishes)


Suborder: Rhinoidei (sharkrays)


Suborder: Rhynchobatoidei (wedgefishes)


Suborder: Rhinobatoidei (guitarfishes)


Suborder: Torpedinoidei (Electric rays)


Suborder: Rajoidei (skates)


Suborder: Myliobatoidei (stingrays)

Subclass: Holocephalii (chimaeras or silver sharks)

Text by Leonard J.V. Compagno, David A. Ebert and Malcolm J. Smale

  Iziko Museums of Cape Town, 2008

Cartilaginous fish home          biodiversity explorer home          Iziko home