Family: Sturnidae (starlings, mynas and oxpeckers)

Life > Eukaryotes > Opisthokonta > Metazoa (animals) > Bilateria > Deuterostomia > Chordata > Craniata > Vertebrata (vertebrates)  > Gnathostomata (jawed vertebrates) > Teleostomi (teleost fish) > Osteichthyes (bony fish) > Class: Sarcopterygii (lobe-finned fish) > Stegocephalia (terrestrial vertebrates) > Tetrapoda (four-legged vertebrates) > Reptiliomorpha > Amniota > Reptilia (reptiles) > Romeriida > Diapsida > Archosauromorpha > Archosauria > Dinosauria (dinosaurs) > Saurischia > Theropoda (bipedal predatory dinosaurs) > Coelurosauria > Maniraptora > Aves (birds) > Order: Passeriformes

Genera indigenous to southern Africa

Onychognathus (rufous-winged starlings)

There are 11 species, distributed through Africa and Arabia, with two species occurring in southern Africa. 

Lamprotornis (glossy starlings)

Cinnyricinclus (Violet-backed starling, Plum-coloured starling)

One species: Plum-coloured starling Cinnyricinclus leucogaster

Spreo (Pied starling genus)

There are two species, of which one, the Pied Starling Spreo bicolor, occurs in southern Africa. The other species is Fischer's starling, which is endemic to NE Africa. 

Creatophora (Wattled starling)

One species: the Wattled starling Creatophora cinerea.

Sturnus (Common starling genus)

The four species are indigenous to Eurasia and one of them, the Common starling Sturnus vulgaris, has become established in many parts of the world, including in southern Africa. 

Acridotheres (mynas)

There are 10 species, distributed through Asia, of which one of them, the Common myna Acridotheres tristis, has become established in many parts of the world. 

Buphagus (oxpeckers)

The two species are distributed through subsaharan Africa and both of them occur in southern Africa. 


 Contact us if you can contribute information or images to improve this page.

Birds home   Biodiversity Explorer home   Iziko home   Search