Family: Alaudidae (larks)

Life > Eukaryotes > Opisthokonta > Metazoa (animals) > Bilateria > Deuterostomia > Chordata > Craniata > Vertebrata (vertebrates)  > Gnathostomata (jawed vertebrates) > Teleostomi (teleost fish) > Osteichthyes (bony fish) > Class: Sarcopterygii (lobe-finned fish) > Stegocephalia (terrestrial vertebrates) > Tetrapoda (four-legged vertebrates) > Reptiliomorpha > Amniota > Reptilia (reptiles) > Romeriida > Diapsida > Archosauromorpha > Archosauria > Dinosauria (dinosaurs) > Saurischia > Theropoda (bipedal predatory dinosaurs) > Coelurosauria > Maniraptora > Aves (birds) > Order: Passeriformes

Ammomanopsis (Gray's lark)

The Gray's lark Ammomanopsis greyi is the sole species in this genus.

Calandrella (short-toed larks, Red-capped lark)

The eight species are distributed through Africa and Eurasia with one, the Red-capped lark Calandrella cinerea occurring in southern Africa. Other than the Red-capped lark, there are six short-toed lark species  

Calendulauda (Karoo lark complex and others)

Sub-Saharan in distribution with six of the eight species occurring in southern Africa.

Certhilauda (Long-billed larks, Short-clawed lark)

Near endemic to southern Africa with all six species found in this region.

Chersomanes (Spike-heeled lark and Beesley's lark)

Two species, both found in sub-Saharan Africa with one of them, Spike-heeled lark Chersomanes albofasciata  occurring in southern Africa. The other species is Beesley's lark Chersomanes beesleyi, which has a very localised distribution in a small area west of Mount Kilimanjaro in norther Tanzania. 

Eremopterix (sparrowlarks, finchlarks)

The seven species are distributed through Africa and Asia with three species occurring in southern Africa.

Galerida (Large-billed lark genus)

The six species are distributed through Eurasia and Africa, with one species, Large-billed lark Galerida magnirostris occurring in southern Africa. 

Heteromirafra (Rudd's lark genus)

Three species, distributed through sub-Saharan Africa; one, Rudd's lark Heteromirafra ruddi, occurs in southern Africa.

Mirafra (clapper larks and others) 

Distributed through Africa, Madagascar, Asia and Australasia. Of the 26 species, seven occur in southern Africa.

Pinarocorys (Dusky lark and Rufous-rumped lark)

Subsaharan in distribution with one of the two species,  Dusky lark Pinarocorys nigricans, occurring in southern Africa. The other species, the Rufous-rumped lark Pinarocorys erythropygia, occurs in the Sahel region, from Senegal through to Sudan.

Spizocorys (Pink-billed lark and others)

The six species are distributed through sub-Saharan Africa, with four species occurring in southern Africa. 


 Contact us if you can contribute information or images to improve this page.

Birds home   Biodiversity Explorer home   Iziko home   Search